WBHF announces the 2016 inductees

The World Baseball Hall of Fame today is honored to announce its annual awards and its six 2016 inductees, the third class of international stars to be selected into the global body. Joining the current 24 WBHF members today are:

Wille Mays

The “Say Hey” Kid of the New York/ San Francisco Giants for 22 years, Willie defined the five-tool superstar. A swift runner who covered centre field like a blanket, he also pounded 660 home runs with 1,903 RBIs in a career that began in 1951. A 24-time All Star, he was one of MLB’s first great black superstars. The four-time leader in NL stolen bases, he was selected as a  member of MLB’s Team of the 20th Century.

Fernando Valenzuela

Arguably the greatest pitcher produced by Mexico, Valenzuela had the most remarkable MLB pitching debut ever, winning the NL Cy Young Award and Rookie of the Year for the Los Angeles Dodgers in 1981. He was also the ace of the team that won the World Series that season. Employing his devastating screwball, Valenzuela was a dominant pitcher in the 1980s. A six-time All Star, he won 173 games with five teams.

Connie Mack

He holds the records for wins (3,731), losses (3,948), and games managed (7,755), with his victory total being almost 1,000 more than any other manager. Mack managed the Philadelphia Athletics for the club's first 50 seasons of play before retiring at age 87 following the 1950 season. He was at least part-owner from 1901 to 1954. World Series champion in 1910, 1911, 1913, 1929, 1930. The last manager to wear a suit, not a uniform, in the dugout.

Ty Cobb

The Georgia Peach was as successful as he was feared by opponents in a 24-year career— 22 of them with the Detroit Tigers. Despite retiring in 1928, he still holds the MLB records for the highest career batting average at .367 and most career batting titles with 11. The embodiment of the dead-ball era, he led the American League in stolen bases six times, was the AL MVP in 1911 and won the Triple Crown in 1909. He also managed the Tigers for five seasons.

Luis Tiant Jr.

As durable as he was unhittable, Tiant’s exotic delivery fooled batters and delighted fans for 19 MLB seasons with six clubs. The Cuban-born maestro was the son of another pitching legend, Luis Tiant Sr. A three-time All Star he won 229 games with 2,416 strikeouts and posted four 20-win seasons. His 1.60 ERA in 1968 was the lowest in the American League since Walter Johnson's 1.49 in 1919 and has not been matched since. Twice the AL ERA leader, El Tiante has been made a member of the Boston Red Sox Hall of Fame.

Hideo Nomo

After starring in the Japanese Major Leagues, Nomo became the first Japanese player to establish himself in the majors. Nomo pitched over 13 seasons with eight different teams, before retiring in 2008. Using his unique hesitation delivery, he won the Rookie of the Year Award in 1995 and twice led the National League in strikeouts. Nom also threw two no-hitters. The Osaka native is credited with opening the door for Japanese players coming to North America.